Taylor Swift’s new album, track by track

Cassidy Brackett, Staff Writer

On Friday, Aug. 23, Taylor Swift released her seventh album, titled “Lover.” This is the first record that Swift owns after the ending of her contract with Big Machine Records. In the first week of sales, all 18 tracks earned a spot on the Billboard Hot 100 list. By the second day of release week, the album had already had the biggest sales week of any album, replacing Swift’s 2017 album “Reputation.”

1. “I Forgot That You Existed”

This is the perfect album opener. This album throws shade in every direction which certainly makes it feel like Swift was giving us one last drop from the “Reputation” era. With lyrics such as, “In my feelings more than Drake,” this song is sure to be featured on countless Instagram stories this year.

2. “Cruel Summer”

I have been listening to this track nonstop since release day. “Cruel Summer” is jam-packed with lyrics that make you want to restart the song just so you can hear them again and again. Bridges are usually my favorite part of a song, and this song did not disappoint, especially since the bridge has a vague parallel with that in one of Swift’s earlier releases “Getaway Car”.

3. “Lover”

Earlier this week, it was confirmed that “Lover” will be the third radio single of this album. In an interview with “Vogue,” Swift said, “I love a bridge, and I was really able to go to Bridge City,” and she wasn’t wrong. This song has a beautiful bridge that fits in perfectly to the wedding aesthetic that this song has. Swift’s title tracks never disappoint, but “Lover” goes above and beyond.

4. “The Man”

This is the ultimate girl power song. In this track, Swift takes down the double standards that have been surrounding her since day one of her career. This song has a modern sound, which will easily make it a hit. 

5. “The Archer”

Anyone who has listened to Swift’s discography knows that track five is always sure to hold the most vulnerable songs, and “Lover” did not make any exceptions. This is one of my favorite songs Swift has ever released, and not only for the incredible songwriting, but because I’m absolutely in love with the timeless 80’s sound. “The Archer” is such a raw song that everyone will be able to relate to at some point in their life. With the lyrics changing so effortlessly from “who could stay?” to “you could stay,” Swift really shares her personal development. 

6. “I Think He Knows”

While you are sure to see “I Forgot You Existed” on countless Instagram stories, “I Think He Knows” is sure to make its fair share of appearances. In this song, it is obvious that Swift was not holding back from any obligatory love song lyrics.

7. “Miss Americana & The Heartbreak Prince”

From homecoming queens to Friday night lights, the imagery in the first verse of this song is sure to make everyone reminisce on both their good and bad high school memories. As the song progresses, the narrative changes from everyday high school problems to the adversity that adults face every day. 

8. “Paper Rings” 

Track 8 is the second wedding song on the album that we didn’t know we needed. This song really goes into depth about Swift’s relationship with actor Joe Alwyn and further confirms fan theories of their engagement. 

9. “Cornelia Street”

This song has the sound that I was expecting when Swift first released the cover art for this album. “Cornelia Street” is one of Swift’s many tracks that are sure to have you crying on the way home Friday and dancing to your heart’s content in your room on Saturday morning. 

10. “Death By A Thousand Cuts”

“Death By A Thousand Cuts” was inspired by the Netflix Original Movie “Something Great”. This song is filled with incredible lines and is another track that will have you dancing and crying at the same time.

11. “London Boy”

This track starts off with an audio of Swift’s “Cats” co-stars Idris Elba and James Corden. The song goes into further detail about Swift’s current relationship, and creates the perfect image of the perfect relationship that we are all looking for. “London Boy” takes you to the streets of London, and shows you the kind of love where you can spend forever with someone no matter where you are. 

12. “Soon You’ll Get Better” (Featuring Dixie Chicks)

Track 12 is a beautifully heartbreaking ballad about her mother’s re-diagnosis and battle with cancer. This song features Dixie Chicks, Swift’s mother’s favorite band. This is one of the most beautiful songs Swift has written, and getting through it without shedding tears is, without a doubt, impossible.

13. “False God”

At first, I didn’t know what my opinion on this song would be, but it did not disappoint. With lines like, “I can’t talk to you when you’re like this, staring out the window like I’m not your favorite town, I’m New York City”, and a saxophone playing in the background throughout the song, this one is the perfect song to listen to while driving late at night. 

14. “You Need To Calm Down”

This track was the second radio single on the album, and featured a music video packed with familiar faces. This song mentions the issues that Swift has openly expressed her concern about, and is going to be amazing when performed live on tour. 

15. “Afterglow”

This song has an undeniable modern beat. “Afterglow” shows how much Swift has grown since the release of “Reputation”, and is another song that is going to be absolutely incredible on tour.  

16. “ME!” (Featuring Brendon Urie of Panic! At The Disco)

“ME!” is the highly anticipated first radio single on this album, and it featured a music video full of easter eggs for the upcoming album. Since the release of “Lover,” fans have gone back to the video in the search of some of the genius easter eggs they have overlooked.

17. “It’s Nice To Have A Friend”

This song is the shortest song Swift has ever released, and is straight to the point. After the first listen it’s hard to notice how perfectly the verses line up, but after a lot of listening, I was shocked at just how incredibly thought out the lyrics of this song are. 

18. “Daylight”

This track is a nearly five minute track, and was written by Swift alone. “Daylight” is full of some of my favorite lyrics she has ever written, and there is not a second of this track that is able to be overlooked. From direct references to her 2012 release “Red” to a seemingly impromptu phone call to wrap the album up, this is by far one of my favorite songs on the entire album.